Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology, deadline: June 15

An occasion to remember that the 2009 prize was awarded to Richard Benton
Program Name:
The Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology
Program URL:
Type of Scientists Funded:
Initial PhD Postdoc, Advanced PhD Postdoc, Initial MD Postdoc, Advanced MD Postdoc
Program Description:
The Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology acknowledges the increasing importance of this research in advancing our understanding of how the brain and nervous system function – a quest that seems destined for dramatic expansion in the coming decades. This international prize, established in 2002, is intended to encourage and support the work of promising young neurobiologists who are not older than 35 years. The prize is awarded annually to one young scientist for the most outstanding neurobiological research based on methods of molecular and cell biology conducted by him/her during the past 3 years, as described in a 1,000-word entrance essay.The grand prizewinner of the Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology is selected along with up to three finalists by an independent board of scientists that is chaired by the Editor-in-Chief of Science. The winner is awarded $25,000. This is a personal gift. The grand prizewinner’s essay is published in Science and on Science Online.

The award is announced and presented at a ceremony in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Society for Neuroscience. Eppendorf provides full support for the grand prizewinner to attend this event.

Editors from Science will be responsible for the initial evaluation of the essays. The top 10% of the essays will be forwarded to the judging panel. The judging panel will be composed of prominent international researchers in the field of neurobiology and will be chaired by the Editor-in-Chief of Science. Most of the judges will be appointed based on nominations from the Society for Neuroscience. The essays will be rated in two areas: scientific quality and significance, and clarity and style of the writing.

The application deadline for the 2010 prize is 15 June.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.