Sept 2-4, 2010, EPFL SV- Life Science Symposium

Engineering Life

The School of Life Sciences at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology of Lausanne (EPFL) is organizing each year a major international symposium on its campus in Lausanne, Switzerland: the EPFL Life Science Symposium (see LSS2007, LSS2008 or LSS2009 for previous events).

This year’s edition, the LSS2010, is placed under the responsibility of the Institute of Bioengineering (IBI). It will take place Sept. 2nd-4th, 2010 and will be dedicated to Bioengineering, under the motto “Engineering Life”.

This three-day event is structured around five core themes that will each feature several high profile speakers:

* Biomolecular Structure and Systems
* Single Cell Systems
* Multicellular Systems
* Tissue and Physiological Systems
* Therapeutics and Diagnostics

confirmed speakers

Vadim Backman Northwestern University, Evanston, IL (USA)
Patrick S. Daugherty University of California, Santa Barbara, CA (USA)
Karl Deisseroth Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA (USA)
Cees Dekker Delft University of Technology (NL)
Bart Deplancke EPFL, Lausanne (CH)
Dennis E. Discher University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA (USA)
Johan Elf Uppsala University (SE)
Warren M. Grill Duke University, Durham, NC (USA)
Farshid Guilak Duke University, Durham, NC (USA)
Darrell J. Irvine MIT, Cambridge, MA (USA)
Douglas A. Lauffenburger MIT, Cambridge, MA (USA)
Michael Liebling University of California, Santa Barbara, CA (USA)
Matthias Lutolf EPFL, Lausanne (CH)
Malcolm A. MacIver Northwestern University, Evanston, IL (USA)
Stephen L. Mayo Caltech, Pasadena, CA (USA)
Andrew D. McCulloch University of California, San Diego, CA (USA)
Celeste M. Nelson Princeton University, Princeton, NJ (USA)
Frank Ohl Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology, Magdeburg (D)
Andreas Pl├╝ckthun University of Zurich (CH)
Robert Riener ETH Zurich and University of Zurich (CH)
Andrew B. Schwartz University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA (USA)
Ehud Shapiro Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot (IL)
Stanislav Y. Shvartsman Princeton University, Princeton, NJ (USA)
Francesco Stellacci EPFL, Lausanne (CH)
Melody A. Swartz EPFL, Lausanne (CH)
Christopher A. Voigt University of California, San Francisco, CA (USA)
Jennifer L. West Rice University, Houston, TX (USA)
K. Dane Wittrup MIT, Cambridge, MA (USA)
(alphabetic list, as of July 2, 2010)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.