Awards, honors, prizes Archive


Science & SciLifeLab Prize, Deadline 15.07.2022

Apply for the Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists, an annual prize awarded to early-career scientists.
The prize is presented in four categories: Cell and Molecular Biology, Genomics, Proteomics and Systems Biology Approaches, Ecology and Environment, and Molecular Medicine.

The winners will have their essays published by Science, win up to USD 30’000 and be invited to Sweden in December 2022 to participate in a unique week filled with events in honor of science.

Further information on this website:


Birnstiel Award invites nominations – Deadline June 30, 2022

The International Birnstiel Award for Doctoral Research in Molecular Life Sciences of the IMP (Research Institute of Molecular Pathology) and Max Birnstiel Foundation has opened its 2022 call.
The deadline for nominations is 30 June.

The award recognises exceptional achievements of up to six PhD students in molecular life sciences from anywhere in the world. The awardees will each receive a trophy, certificate, and 2,000 Euro at an award ceremony at the Vienna BioCenter in December this year. 

The Birnstiel Award targets doctoral students at an advanced stage of their dissertation or recent PhD graduates (graduations at the latest 30 June 2021), whose research has contributed to outstanding discoveries in their respective field. 

Nominations are accepted from authorised persons such as department chairs and programme coordinators, and only one nomination per PhD programme or department will be considered. For detailed information, eligibility criteria, and access the application form, please refer to the IMP website at:


Cells 2022 Young Investigator Award – Nomination Deadline: 30 Sep. 2022

Cells is now inviting nominations for the Cells 2022 Young Investigator Award. This prize will be given to one young investigator in recognition of their excellence in the fields of cell biology, molecular biology, and biophysics. All nominations will be assessed by an Evaluation Committee led by the Editors-in-Chief, Dr. Alexander E. Kalyuzhny and Prof. Dr. Cord Brakebusch.

The prize:
− CHF 2000 (Swiss francs);
− The option to publish one paper free of charge in Cells after peer review before the end of 2023; 
− An engraved plaque.

Eligibility and Requirements:
− Must have a PhD;
− Must be below 35 years of age by 31 December 2022;
− Must have produced ground-breaking research and made a significant contribution to the advancement of cell biology, molecular biology, and biophysics;
− Candidates must be nominated by a senior scientist.

List of Documents for Nomination:
− Detailed curriculum vitae, including an updated publication list and a list of the researcher’s own research grants;
− Birth certificate or other proof of age;
− Scanned copy of doctorate certificate;
− Signed nomination letters from two established senior scientists.

Open for nominations: 20 January 2022. 
Nomination deadline: 30 September 2022.
Winner announcement: 31 December 2022.

How to submit nominations? any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at We look forward to receiving your nominations.Kind Regards,Cells Editorial Office
Journal Information.

Cells (ISSN 2073-4409) is an international, peer-reviewed open access journal which provides an advanced forum for studies related to cell biology, molecular biology and biophysics. 


Congratulations to C. Dessimoz on his new role as joint executive Director of SIB.

Christophe Dessimoz - FBM UNIL

Christophe Dessimoz has been appointed Joint Executive Director of SIB as of 1 April 2022.

The recruitment committee selected his candidacy among a number of very good candidates, after two rounds of interviews with two external candidates and five outstanding internal candidates, and the Foundation Council just ratified this nomination today as proposed by the Board of Directors

For those who do not know him already, Christophe is an internationally recognized scientist based at the DBC of the University of Lausanne as Associate Professor and SIB Group leader. He is as well an elected member of our Board of Directors since 2018.
An election among SIB Group Leaders will shortly take place to identify a successor for Christophe at this Board.  
With expertise in comparative genomics and big data analysis, Christophe Dessimoz leads a highly collaborative and interdisciplinary research group, and has published over 100 scientific papers. His group develops the OMA database which relates genomes across the tree of life, and which is part of SIB’s resource portfolio since 2012. Among several distinctions, he was awarded the Overton Prize by the International Society for Computational Biology (ISCB) for his outstanding contributions (2019), and the Optimus Agora Prize of the SNSF for science communication (2021). Among several leadership roles, he is a board member of the ISCB, presides the Life Science Switzerland (LS2) Bioinformatics Intersection, and is a leader of the international Quest for Orthologs consortium. He obtained a Master’s degree in Biology in 2003, a PhD in Computer Science in 2009 at ETH Zurich and pursued a postdoc at the European Bioinformatics Institute near Cambridge (UK).


Congratulations to Dorian Ziegler (LF) on his Bettencourt prize for young researchers!

The CIG is proud to inform you that Dr Dorian Ziegler received in Dec. 2021 the Bettencourt prize for young researchers.

Read the presentation of Dr Ziegler:

Dorian ZIEGLER – Postdoctoral Researcher – Center for Integrative Genomics  (CIG) - UNIL | LinkedIn

Launched in 1990, this prize is one of the Bettencourt Schueller Foundation’s first initiatives. It is awarded annually to 14 young doctors of science or medical doctors to enable them to do their postdoctoral internships in the best foreign laboratories.

To date, 279 young researchers have been awarded this prize worth €25,000.
In 2014, the rules for the Young Researchers Bettencourt Prize were amended to strengthen the selection criteria and give special attention to applying medical researchers.


I. Lopez-Mejia and N. Vastenhouw were in “L’Actu” magazine regarding their FBM interdisciplinary Grant, Dec. 2021

Among the 4 interdisciplinary projects selected by the Faculty of Biology and Medicine to get fundings, 2 were proposed by members of the CIG:

List of all awardees on the UNIL web magazine: